Better’n Peanut Butter Pie

077

On this path of learning how to be the healthiest version of myself I have learned to familiarize myself with TRIGGER foods. What’s a trigger food you ask? These foods you can’t keep in your home because you’ll eat the ENTIRE bag, jar, can, or box within moments. And possibly not even regret it. For me, it’s sweets. I grew up in a home where candy was always at our finger tips but no one else in our family seemed to fall asleep thinking about the cupcakes in the kitchen. For them, sweets aren’t a trigger food. They’re a treat and that’s all. They would eat them to satisfaction and be done. I would eat the entire plate and then go through a terrible emotional roller coaster of regret. With dessert being a trigger food for me I learned quickly how to still have treats for our family on special occasions and within moderation. So, when I was presented with the challenge of a Peanut Butter Pie Make-over I knew I could handle it! And even if I did enjoy some of the pie, it would be skinned up so I wouldn’t be weighed down with guilt after having a piece or TWO!

These nutritional stats will blow your mind!
Better’n Peanut Butter Pie (make over nutritional stats)
serves: 8
141 calories. 4 grams of fat. 21 carbs. 2 grams of fiber. 7 grams of sugar. 4 grams of protein. 4 WW Points Plus
compared to the original recipe of:
752 CALORIES a serving! 45.5 grams of FAT! 79 CARBS! 2 grams of fiber. 60 GRAMS OF SUGAR! 14 grams of protein. 21 WW POINTS PLUS.

all I can say is, you’re welcome. 🙂

Ingredients:
1 cup of Walden Farms Zero Calorie Peanut Spread
2 tablespoons of Jiff All Natural Peanut Butter
2 tablespoons of Better’n Peanut Butter
1 container of Yoplait Fat Free Vanilla Greek Yogurt (single serving 100 calorie size)
1/2 cup of fat free cool whip
1 tablespoon of powdered sugar
crust
6 sheets of Chocolate Graham Crackers
1 egg white
1 tablespoon of Light Smart Balance with Flax Seed Oil
topping:
2 tablespoons of Sugar Free Hot Fudge Sauce
2 tablespoons of Better’n Peanut Butter
cocoa powder for dusting

071

This took a lot of taste testing and experimenting! As with any fat free or sugar free product you can sometimes get into a funky after taste. My husband is a BIG fan of peanut butter (one of his trigger foods) and a tough critic when it comes to the after taste. I made us a separate smaller version of the pie just for taste testing! And it passed!

Instructions for crust:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor or zip lock bag fine crush chocolate graham crackers. In a separate bowl mix graham crackers, melted smart balance, and egg white until mixture becomes dough-like. Press down into greased pie pan and bake for 8 minutes. Let cool completely before filling.

Instructions for pie filling:
In a large mixing bowl combine peanut spread, natural peanut butter, better’n peanut butter, and powdered sugar. Mix on medium speed for about one minute. Add greek yogurt and mix on medium for an additional minute. When the greek yogurt is completely mixed in with the peanut butter fold in cool whip free with spatula. Do not mix this with an electric mix or whisk, it will deflate your cool whip and cause the mixeture to become runny. Pour into chilled pie crust.

Top with sifted cocoa powder and drizzle sugar free hot fudge and better’n peanut butter on top.

Whether peanut butter and graham crackers are a trigger food for you or not, with these impressive nutritional stats it won’t matter as long as you enjoy this treat within moderation! Now go wow someone with this recipe!

Confession: When I was growing up I would throw away my moms bags of chocolate chips or chips ahoy to keep myself from eating them. I still don’t keep “trigger foods” in our house on a regular basis. Even something as simple as a graham crackers. We get them on special occasions or for a specific recipe and the remainders are hidden up high in our cabinets. You can call me crazy. But if you confess, you have a trigger food too!

Leave a comment