Chewy Oatmeal Cookies

20131208-104746.jpg

Baking is my nemesis. We have a love hate relationship. I love to bake (and to eat baked goods!) and I hate the pounds of butter and sugar that go into cookies and the pounds that seem to linger long after they’re gone. But a healthy lifestyle isn’t never eating a cookie again. Or at least, not in my world. I would become hostile if that were the case. And if you live in reality with me, then you’ll enjoy these “Better For You” cookie recipes. They’re not super low calorie, no sugar, cardboard tasting, appropriate for breakfast. But they are a healthier choice that still taste fantastic!

We are having a Cookies and Cocoa Christmas party this year. Why would a sweet-a-holic, like me, put myself through such misery and temptation? Because some of my favorite Christmas memories were spent covered in flour in a kitchen exploding with my moms famous cookies. We would sing carols and laugh until our sides were sore at our lack of talent for decorating with royal icing. We always made a gingerbread house and the walls always fell down. And we always ate cookies for breakfast on Christmas Eve. I don’t know that I’ll encourage the cookies for breakfast tradition for my sweet family. But there will be singing, laughter, and most definitely baking for Christmas.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons melted light butter substitute or canola oil
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup dried reduced sugar cranberries
1/2 cup of white chocolate chips or yogurt chips would work great here
too.
2 cups rolled oats
1 cup sifted all purpose flour
1/2 cup white whole-wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

I highly recommend lining baking sheets with parchment paper or you can coat with cooking spray.

Beat together sugar, applesauce, egg white, oil and vanilla in a large bowl until smooth. In a separate bowl mix together oats, flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet, mixing just until blended.
I use a tablespoonful cookie scoop to make the perfect sized cookies that will all bake evenly. Bake until lightly browned, about 12- 15 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool.

They don’t make candles that smell this good!

Each cookie is right under 90 calories and will store in your fridge for one week or freezer up to six weeks!

Confession:
Ours are double wrapped in Saran, in freezer bags, and hidden in the freezer to keep me from sneaking one until our party!!

20131208-104735.jpg

Leave a comment